Senate Confirms Alejandro Mayorkas as Secretary of Homeland Security

On February 2, 2021, the Senate confirmed Alejandro Mayorkas as Secretary of Homeland Security by a vote of 56-43.

Mr. Mayorkas previously served as Director of U.S. Citizenship & Immigration Services (USCIS) and Deputy Secretary of Homeland Security under President Obama.  He was one of the primary architects of the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program. He will be the first immigrant and Latino to head the department.

The Department of Homeland Security is one of the executive departments responsible for implementing and enforcing U.S. immigration law, specifically through its three agencies: U.S. Citizenship & Immigration Services (USCIS), Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE), and Customs and Border Protection (CBP).  USCIS is responsible for processing and adjudicating immigrant and nonimmigrant benefits, including applications for permanent residence, work authorization, and naturalization.  ICE is responsible for interior enforcement, including detention and deportation. CBP is responsible for securing the U.S. border, including all ports of entry (air, land and sea).

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply