Humanitarian-Based Immigration

Immigration law is governed by U.S. federal law and governs the entry into and residence of foreign nationals in the United States, as well as the deportation, or removal, of foreign nationals from the United States. Common areas of immigration law include family-based immigration, employment based immigration, citizenship and naturalization, humanitarian-based immigration, non-immigrant visas, and removal and deportation.

Citizenship & Naturalization:

Applications by foreign nationals in the United States who are seeking protection from persecution in their home country on the basis of race, religion, nationality, membership in a particular social group, or political opinion.

Applications by foreign nationals in the United States to remain in the United States based on a temporary inability to safely return to their home country due to ongoing conflicts, environmental disasters, or other extraordinary conditions.  The following countries are currently designated for Temporary Protected Status: El Salvador, Guinea, Haiti, Honduras, Liberia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, Syria, and Yemen.

Applications by victims of crime, and their family members, who have suffered substantial mental or physical abuse and willingly assist law enforcement and government officials in the investigation or prosecution of criminal activity.  If granted, this non-immigrant visa can eventually lead to permanent resident status.