Temporary Protected Status due to Ebola Outbreak

Secretary of Homeland Security Jeh Johnson designated Liberia, Guinea, and Sierra Leone for Temporary Protected Status (TPS) for 18 months due to the outbreak of Ebola disease in West Africa.

The TPS means that eligible nationals of these three countries (and people without nationality who last habitually resided in one of those three countries) will not be removed from the United States and they are eligible to receive employment authorization upon filing.  Applications for TPS must be filed between November 21, 2014 and May 20, 2015.

To be eligible for TPS, applicants must pass a thorough security check and must prove that they have been continuously residing in the U.S. since November 20, 2014. Applicants may request that USCIS waive the filing fees based on demonstrated inability to pay.

Please call the law firm of Raslan and Pla to receive more information regarding temporary protected status.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply